The library has a wide variety of eBooks available in our collection for your research. You can search for them in a few ways, including using SpartaCat (the NCC Library Catalog), EBSCO Discovery Service, or by searching specific eBook collections directly.
You can use SpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, to find e-books across our digital collections.
Keyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books and items for the word or phrase you enter.
Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search using this. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.
Title: If you know the specific title of a work, choose this option.
Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about, but they may not appear in the title, summary, table of contents, or publication information the way a keyword would.
While these are the most common and basic searches, you could also use one of the other options listed (ISBN, Genre, Series Title, Call Number, or Periodical Title) if it fits your needs.
To find eBooks with SpartaCat, after you have started your search, on the results page, use the Limit Search Results options. Look for the Item Type search result limiter.
Select Electronic Book and click Include to add this limiter or filter to your search.
This removes any items that are not eBooks from your search results.
In the results, eBooks will be tagged with the words Electronic Resource and their location will be Online. To view an eBook from the search results page, use the link labeled Click Here to Read Online. This Click Here to Read Online link also appears on the eBook's Item Details (or summary) page.
Clicking this link will open the eBook in a new screen. You may be prompted to log in with your Northampton single-sign-on username and password before you can begin reading the book.
Watch our SpartaCat eBooks Tutorial to see a demonstration.
You can search individual eBook collections directly as well. A few of our most popular ones are highlighted below. You can also look for them, and others using the eBook database type filter on our Databases A-Z list.
Credo Reference contains articles and images from books covering all subjects. Also, it provides pro/con articles for topics.
Use this source to access eBooks (online books that can be read on a computer screen). Sorry, no downloads available at this time (these cannot be saved to an e-reader device).