Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CJST: Criminal Justice: Find Books

Exonerated : a history of the innocence movement

Call Number: KF9756 .N67 2017
Publication Date: 2017

From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime: the making of mass incarceration in America

Call Number: HV9950 .H56 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Exploring and Understanding Careers in Criminal Justice

Call Number: HV9950 .S545 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia

Call Number: HV6791 .L38 2016
Publication Date: 2016

The Death Penalty: what's keeping it alive

Call Number: HV8699 .U5 L96 2015
Publication Date: 2015

Mass Shootings in America

Call Number: HV6529 .M378 2018
Publication Date: 2018

The Criminal Brain: Understanding Biological Theories of Crime

Call Number: HV6047 .R334 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Crime, Prisons, and Jails

Call Number: HV8665 .P747 2017
Publication Date: 2017

Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook

Call Number: HV6773.5 .A47 2015
Publication Date: 2015

The Use and Abuse of Police Power in America

Call Number: HV7921 .U84 2017
Publication Date: 2017

Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Crime and Criminology

Call Number: HV6789 .T255 2017
Publication Date: 2016

Criminal Justice Reform

Call Number: HV9950 .U8 2020

Publication Date: 2020

Located at Bethlehem (Stacks)

How Do I Check Out Books?

undefined

Bethlehem students: To obtain a student ID card, visit the Student Affairs office on the second floor of College Center, CC-200, at the end of Laub Lounge. There is a sign above the hallway/doorway that says "Spartan Card."

Monroe students: Visit the Student Services office in order to obtain your student ID card.

ILL

Book Request Article Request

Using the Library Catalog

SpartaCat, the NCC Library Catalog, is an online tool that allows you to search for items owned by the Library. This includes books, e-books, encyclopedias, streaming videos, audiobooks, print periodicals, and more.

You have the option of performing many different searches within the library catalog:

           

Basic Searching in SpartaCat

Keyword: If you are looking for a general topic (like "global warming"), it is best to start here. It will search the title, summary, table of contents, and publication information of each of our books and items for the word or phrase you enter.

Author: If you are looking for books by a specific person, search using this. For example, if you want to find books by Edgar Allan Poe, enter his name like this: Poe, Edgar Allan.

Title: If you know the specific title of a work, choose this option.

Subject: Search the Subject Headings list. These are like #hashtags. They are the main word or phrase used to catalog the book and reflect what it is about, but they may not appear in the title, summary, table of contents, or publication information the way a keyword would.

While these are the most popular, basic types of searches, you could use one of the other options listed (ISBN, Genre, Series Title, Call Number, or Periodical Title) if it fits your needs.

 

Finding Books in the Library Collections:

To find books on our shelves, you will need to know the call number and shelf location of the book. It is also helpful to know it's status. You can find this information by clicking on an item in your results list to view its details. image of item location information in SpartaCat

Common shelf locations for library materials:           

Stacks: The largest collection on the Bethlehem campus library's main floor.
Monroe: Items are at the ESSA Bank & Trust Foundation Library at Monroe campus.            
Reference: An area for multi-volume encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. These books can only be used in the library, they cannot be checked out or borrowed.

Media Tower: Item is a DVD, VHS, or CD (although children's and young adult materials are in this location too) in the Bethlehem campus library.   
Online: Digitial e-Book or streaming video viewed by clicking the access link.            
New Books: A special section of the Libraries for recent additions to our collection.

Browsing: An area in the Bethlehem campus library for popular fiction and nonfiction titles and bestsellers.

 

Common statuses for library items:

On Shelf: the item is available or on the shelf. 
Due xx/xx/xxxx: the item is currently checked out and loaned to someone else. 

Circulation Desk - Main Campus: the item is currently on reserve and may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions.
Monroe Reserve Desk:
the item is currently on reserve and may be in-library use only, have a shorter loan period, or have other restrictions.


See a Demonstration

Watch our SpartaCat Tutorial to see a search demonstration. 

Criminal Justice books located by Call Number

HV6001-7220.5 Criminology
HV6035-6197 Criminal anthropology--Including criminal types, criminal psychology, prison psychology, causes of crime
HV6201-6249 Criminal classes
HV6250-6250.4 Victims of crimes. Victimology
HV6251-6773.55 Crimes and offenses
HV6774-7220.5 Crimes and criminal classes
HV7231-9960 Criminal justice administration
HV7428 Social work with delinquents and criminals
HV7431 Prevention of crime, methods, etc.
HV7435-7439 Gun control
HV7551-8280.7 Police. Detectives. Constabulary
HV7935-8025 Administration and organization
HV8031-8080 Police duty. Methods of protection
HV8035-8069 Special classes of crimes, offenses and criminals
HV8073-8079.35 Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of prisoners
HV8079.2-8079.35 Police social work
HV8079.5-8079.55 Traffic control. Traffic accident investigation
HV8081-8099 Private detectives. Detective bureaus
HV8130-8280.7 By region or country
HV8290-8291 Private security services
HV8301-9920.7 Penology. Prisons. Corrections
HV9051-9230.7 The juvenile offender. Juvenile delinquency. Reform schools, etc.
HV9261-9430.7 Reformation and reclamation of adult prisoners
HV9441-9920.7 By region or country