Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Library Databases?
Magazine icon: Made by www.freepik.com
What is a Scholarly Article / Scholarly Journal?
What are Primary Sources?
Primary sources are documents that were created at the time of an event.
Look for sources published, written, or spoken during the time period you are researching, such as:
- diary and journal entries
- photographs and drawings
- audio or video recording
Secondary sources are are any documents that analyze an historical event or person. These will be most of your typical sources like books and articles.
Find scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, biographies, primary sources and more in these databases. For a full list of all the historical databases, click here.
Gale in Context World History This link opens in a new window
Covers themes, trends, and people from around the world. Contains full text articles, maps and images, with many primary source documents.
Gale in Context US History This link opens in a new window
Covers themes, trends, and people from United States history. Contains full text articles, maps and images, with many primary source documents.
What is EBSCO Discovery Service?
EBSCO Discovery Service is a tool that allows you to search a large portion of the Library's collection using a single search box. Your search will return articles from our databases, access to ebooks, streaming videos and information on print books at both the Bethlehem and Monroe Libraries.
Search EBSCO Discovery Service
General Reference Databases
Use the following databases to find general and background information on your topic.
Britannica This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia Britannica with updated content specifically designed to meet the needs of academic libraries.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text books, including an assortment of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, along with images, multimedia (music and video) features, tables of statistics, and maps.
Gale EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable reference sources in full text, including the Encyclopedia of Education, Encyclopedia of Religion, Nutrition and Well-Being A-Z, World Microbiology and Immunology, and others.
General Subject Databases
Search for scholarly/peer-reviewed articles on your topic, as well as newspaper, magazine, and trade articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from periodicals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Find full videos or segments on your topic.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video covering the humanities, social sciences, science, business, economics, and health.