Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HCOA: Health Care Office Administration Program: Databases

This Research Guide will help students in the HCOA program find information about diseases, medical procedures, human anatomy, and the management of health information.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Using Library Databases Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link and when prompted, enter your NCC student I.D. number and password (the same way you would to open your "MyNCC" account). Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Database Resources for Health Care Office Administration Courses

AHFS Consumer Medication Information (part of the EBSCOhost database) -- Published by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, this database includes more than 1,000 drug information monographs, written for consumers, in both English and Spanish.‚Äč

Associates Programs Source (part of the EBSCOhost database) -- Contains magazines and journals for students in two-year degree programs. Topics include medical transcription, medical office management, medical billing, health data management, and office administration. Many articles are full-text.

CQ Researcher -- Offers articles about controversial issues, both current and historical, in a wide variety of subject areas. Current issue and back issues to 1923 can be searched. Extensive bibliographies are often included in the articles, which are full-text. Recommended for researching topics such as health insurance, health care reform and Medicare.

Credo Reference -- A collection of full-text, electronic reference books. Titles include the American Heritage Medical Dictionary; Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary; Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary & Alternative Medicine; Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions; Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations; and many more.

EBSCOhost -- Offers articles on a variety of subjects from journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are available in full text.

Health Reference Series Online -- This collection of electronic books contains information about diseases and other medical conditions, including descriptions of symptoms, diagnostic tests, medications, and other treatments.

D&B Hoovers -- This business database provides continuously updated intelligence on public and private companies worldwide, including those in the health care sector.

Merck Manuals Online -- Published by the pharmaceutical manufacturer Merck, these databases provide information about diseases and their drug treatments. To find information suitable for patients, use the "Consumer" version; health care workers needing in-depth technical information should consult the "Professional" version. 

ProQuest Central -- Index to academic journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a variety of subject areas. Many articles are full-text.

Salem Health -- A searchable collection of electronic books about health topics, published by Salem Press.

 

Finding Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the Library database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This online tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

For example, if you search for the magazine title Health Care Biller, the directory will show you that this magazine is available in the Associates Programs Source module of the EBSCOhost database, and the full text of articles is available from 1999 to the present.