Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOS 202: Microbiology for Allied Health: Databases

Use this guide to find information on library resources for BIOS202 - Microbiology for Allied Health.

Library databases containing science articles

EDS EBSCO Disovery Service: searches most of the library's databases

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria

Science in Context

To use these databases, see the individual boxes below to locate articles within these sources. These databases can be used on campus or from your personal device.  You must login using your MYNCC credentials to use the databases from your personal device.  Choose the option for full text, scholarly journals.

To search for original research articles, use any one of the following terms in your search:

1. Your topic

2. methodology, original, or research

Search EBSCO Discovery Service

Gale in Context Science

Other databases containing science and original research articles

There are many databases of science articles available via the Internet.  These databases are free and do not require you to log in.

PubMed Central: is from the National Library of Medicine and contains only full text articles

PLOS, Public Library of Science: has many journals related to health and science that contain only full text articles.

BMC Biology

Directory of Open Access Journals

See the individual boxes below to locate articles within these sources.

PubMed Central PMC

 

PLOS Public Library of Science

PLOS stands for the Public Library of Science, and this is a source of open access (free to all via the Internet) full text access on all areas of science and medicine.

The following journals make up the PLOS platform:

PLOS One: this online journal has full text original research articles in all areas of science

PLOS Biology

PLOS Medicine

PLOS Genetics

PLOS Pathogens

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

BMC Biology

BMC Biology is an open access online journal that provides full text articles for free.

https://bmcbiol.biomedcentral.com/