LibGuides: BIOS 202: Microbiology for Allied Health: Bacteria: scientific sources

Bacteria sources: all scientific sources

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea & Bacteria This link opens in a new window
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) is a reference work for microbiology that describes bacteria physiology, ecology, and taxonomy. It is the electronic version of the book series of the same name located in the reference area of the library.

How to find bacteria in Bergey's Manual
A guide to using Bergey's Manual online.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service searches multiple NCC Library databases, as well as our Library Catalog. Quickly discover the best articles and books on your research topic!
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
This database covers all of your science needs! All branches of science, including health and medicine, are represented. Current and controversial science topics are also covered here.

PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.

BioMed Central
Full text articles
Frontiers
Leading international, peer-reviewed, open-access journal publisher.
PLOS ONE
Public Library of Science contains full text articles on science topics

PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea & Bacteria This link opens in a new window
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) is a reference work for microbiology that describes bacteria physiology, ecology, and taxonomy. It is the electronic version of the book series of the same name located in the reference area of the library.

How to use Bergey's Manual

On the right side you will see a box that says SEARCH, click SEARCH IN THIS BOOK (red box around it).

The following search screen will be displayed, enter the name of the bacteria, and then choose full text and keyword, and then click search

The search results appear like this, and you can open the article in HTML or PDF format

Because your topics can be very specific, sometimes you have to think bigger.

If you used Lysol in your projects, you may have to search for disinfectants.

If you found bacteria on shopping carts or computer keyboards, then you may have to use "surface" instead of shopping carts or keyboards.