LibGuides: BIOS 202: Microbiology for Allied Health: Websites

Evaluating Websites

Critically review the Web site with the following questions in mind:

Who is the author(s) or sponsor(s) of the site? What are their qualifications? (Authority)
Is this a commerical, governmental, personal, academic Web site? (Accuracy)
What is the purpose of the site? (Objectivity)
What is the date of the information given? (Currency)
Is the information documented? (Coverage)

REMEMBER - not all information found on the Web is useful for college research!

Web Sites

AAAS: American Association for the Advancement of Science
Includes full-text articles from ScienceNOW.
The Biology Project (University of AZ)
An online resource for learning biology.
Biomes
This site explores the artic tundra, the deciduous forest, the desert, the taiga, the tropical rainforest and the tropical savannah.
BioMed Central
Provides free access to peer-reviewed original research papers in the biomedical field.
Center for Bioethics - University of Pennsylvania
Covers a list of current issues in bioethics.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Covers resources in biology and biotechnology, including research articles and online biomedical textbooks.
Plants Database
This database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, osses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Public Library of Science
PLoS provides free access to scholarly, peer-reviewed full-text articles.
World Library of Science
A free, online website providing high quality resources for science education.