LibGuides: Dental Hygiene (DENH): Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Decision Making

DH Library Resources 2nd year 2023
A handout explaining primary and secondary research sources used in EBDM and listing resources to use to find these sources.
DH Library Resources 1st year 2022
A handout explaining primary and secondary research sources used in EBDM and listing resources to use to find these sources.

	Studies/Trials	Systematic Reviews	Meta-Analysis	Clinical Guidelines
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes
PubMed	Yes	Yes	Yes	No
PubMed Central	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes
Cochrane Library	No	Yes	No	No
ADA Evidence-Based Dentistry	No	Yes	No	Yes

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text contains full text articles from nursing and allied health journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. NCC students have "free access" to some of the systematic reviews found in Cochrane Reviews, which is one of the databases in the Cochrane Library.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
A great source to find articles from scholarly journals covering all aspects of dentistry.
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service searches multiple NCC Library databases, as well as our Library Catalog. Quickly discover the best articles and books on your research topic!
EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Click on Health to search CINAHL and Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition as well as a few other EBSCO databases.

Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Reports from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of healthcare in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas. The EPCs also conduct research on methodology of evidence synthesis.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A great source for scholarly full-text journal articles on medical topics. Also provides access to AHFS Consumer Medication Information.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
This resource is available to everyone for free. You do not need a login to use it.
PubMed Central--PMC This link opens in a new window
This source is full text! Use it to find articles related to health, medicine, human biology, & other life sciences topics.