Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DENH: Dental Hygiene

Resources for Dental Hygiene Research

EBSCOhost: Dentistry and Oral Science Source

EBSCOhost-Health

EBSCOhost-Health

This will allow you to search various EBSCOhost databases that contain health information.  To locate this tool, please click on the link below, once you are on the page, click on the word HEALTH, and then click continue.

EBSCOhost - Health

EBSCOhost: CINAHL with Full Text

Using EBSCOHost databases: tips and tricks

Click "sign in" located in the upper right hand side.

Click "create an account"

Choose a user name and password to create your account.

Once you have created an account, you will have access to your folder and other privileges.

The folder allows you to: 

  • save articles
  • save searches
  • create notes
  • access the permalink that will be needed for your reference list
  • organize articles by creating multiple folders within your folder

 

  • only put single words or phrases in the search box
  • use quotations around phrases, "disclosing agent"
  • use "TX all text" field (see picture)

 

  • use the subject terms assigned to the article to locate additional articles with these subjects
  • the three key fields to fill in: search terms, full text, and date range (2011-2016)

 

Using Online Databases

Online databases contain articles from magazines, newspapers, journals, trade publications, and books.  The articles in these databases come in two formats: abstract and full-text.  An abstract is a summary or overview of the article, and the complete article is not available in this database.  The other format is full-text which means the entire article as it appeared in the paper journal is available to you.

When you search for articles in these databases, there are are thee things to remember.  First, you can only search using words or phrase.  These tools do not work like Google, you cannot post an entire question in the search boxes.  Another thing to remember is to mark the option to only search for full-text articles on the "search" page.  This way you will only have complete articles in your results.  The last tip to remember is when the results are displayed use the suggested topics/subjects that the database lists to retrieve articles directly related to your topic.