Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HOSP: Hospitality Management: Databases & Articles

This research guide is intended for students in the Hospitality Management program, or anyone performing research on the hotel, restaurant, event planning, or gaming industries.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Databases for Researching Hospitality & Business Topics

The Library databases listed below are recommended for researching a variety of Business topics, including the Hospitality industry. Depending upon the perspective you wish to take when writing about an issue, you may want to look for historical information, current news articles, or a combination of both. These descriptions of the databases will help you decide where to begin searching.

D&B Hoover's --  Start here if you're doing research on a particular industry or company. This database analyzes trends in sales, revenue, market share, product launches, advertising, regulatory issues, and much more. 

EBSCOhost -- Use this general subject database to find articles on a variety of topics from journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Most articles are available in full text. EBSCOhost is a good choice if you're looking for news articles about recent events. Scholarly Business journals are located in the Academic Search Elite and Business Source Elite modules.

JSTOR -- Contains scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects, many with an international perspective. Historical coverage for some titles includes past issues going back as far as 50 years.

Opposing Viewpoints -- This database presents different perspectives on a variety of controversial issues. Resources include magazine, journal and newspaper articles, video and audio news clips, and chapters from the Opposing Viewpoints book series. Use this database if you're writing an argumentative or persuasive paper (or speech), and would like to find information in a "pro and con" format.

ProQuest Central -- Use this general subject database to find articles on a variety of topics from journals, magazines and newspapers. Most articles are available in full text. Go to the "Databases" tab to narrow your search to the ABI/INFORM and Business Market Research collections. 

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link, then type the same user name and password that you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Finding Specific Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the Library database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

Here's just a brief selection of Hospitality and Marketing journals that you may search in the NCC Library's databases. Browse the Publication Finder to discover many more!

 

EBSCOhost

  • Hospitality Upgrade
  • Hotel Business
  • Hotel Management
  • Special Events Magazine

JSTOR

  • Journal of Consumer Research
  • Journal of Economic Perspectives
  • Journal of Marketing Research
  • Tourism & Hospitality Research

ProQuest

  • Business Traveller Asia Pacific
  • Hospitality Design
  • International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
  • Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Technology
  • Lodging Hospitality
  • Research in Hospitality Management
  • Tourism & Hospitality Management
  • Travel & Tourism News