The library subscribes to over 75 different databases like EBSCOHost, JSTOR, ProQuest Central, and more. These databases include articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and other publications. These same information sources can sometimes be difficult to find and access with a basic internet search.
Remember - you may be required to login to use on databases off-campus. Use your "MyNCC" login username and password. A few of our databases require special logins for off-campus access. Ask the Librarians for these logins by emailing email@example.com.
Finding the Library Databases
There's also a way to search most of our individual databases at one time: our EBSCO Discovery Service search tool.
Database Searching Basics
- remember to use the full-text limiter
- use any appropriate and available search filters or sort options to help you navigate results
- choose your search keywords carefully
EBSCOhost - the Harvard Business Review eBook collection has been added through May 30, 2020. These items will be included in EBSCOhost, EBSCO Discovery Service, or eBooks collection (EBSCOhost) search results.
JSTOR - has turned on all previously unlicensed content at no cost through December 31, 2020. Open access content (eBooks and journals) can now be searched separately within JSTOR.
Kanopy (streaming video) - additional titles have been made available to access for free in the next 30 days. As more content partners and providers participate more titles will be added. Providers opening their collections include the Great Courses and Video Project.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale in Context - has made over 675 infographics more visible on portal pages and in search results. To search for them directly, use the advanced search to enter your keywords and choose infographics under content type. You can also search within the results.
ProQuest Central - has added the Coronavirus Research Database, a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis. Items from this collection will appear in ProQuest Central search results.
Science - Gale in Context - has made over 325 simulations more visible on portal pages and in search results. To search for them directly, use the advanced search to enter your keywords and choose simulations under content type. You can filter the results further by topic or search within the results.
Other Online Resources
In case library resources aren't enough for your research needs, we've also compiled other useful online resources here. These may be especially useful while our physical collections are unavailable at this time.