The Internet provides access to a variety of information, but not all of it is accurate, reliable or current. The websites listed below are maintained by reputable organizations and contain trustworthy information.
Advertising has evolved during the last century, from print newspaper and magazine ads to roadside billboards, radio jingles, and television commercials. These fascinating websites show how advertising has captured the American mood during each generation, reflecting consumers' concerns and using persuasion to convince them to spend their money on a specific brand.
Ad*Access -- This online archive provides access to more than 7,000 U.S. and Canadian print advertisements dated between 1911 and 1955, covering five product categories: beauty and hygiene, radio, television, transportation, and World War II propaganda. The content is curated by librarians at the Duke University Libraries Digital Repository.
AdViews -- This digital collection allows you to watch thousands of historic commercials created for clients, or acquired by, the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency from the 1950s to the 1980s. Featured brands include Crest toothpaste, Post cereals, Scope mouthwash, Hardees fast food, Hasbro toys, Studebaker cars, Texaco gasoline, and Pampers disposable diapers. This content is also curated by librarians at the Duke University Libraries Digital Repository.
Coca-Cola at the Library of Congress -- Contains more than 1,100 online images of advertising, signage, vending machines, and other objects featuring Coca-Cola soft drinks, dated from 1890-present.
Philip Morris USA advertising archive -- This searchable collection of print advertising and signage features cigarette brands made by Philip Morris, including Marlboro, Virginia Slims, Parliament, Benson & Hedges, Chesterfield, Merit, L&M, and Basic.
Need help with finding sources, searching databases, formatting citations, or deciding on a paper topic? The NCC Librarians are here for you.
Both the Mack Library (Bethlehem) and ESSA Library (Monroe) are open if you'd like to visit in person, or you can chat online with a Librarian no matter where you are! Go to the Library's home page and click on the orange "Ask the Librarian" tab to start chatting. 
To find out when we're open, take a look at the Library's hours.
For more ways to reach us, and answers to our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), click here. You can also send an e-mail question to askthelibrarian@northampton.edu, or set up a private appointment with a Librarian by using the "Book A Librarian" request form.
We look forward to hearing from you!