Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DENH: Dental Hygiene

Resources for Dental Hygiene Research

Tips for finding articles

There are many resources that contain articles from journals.  Some are available from library databases such as EBSCOhost and ProQuest.  Others are available from the National Library of Medicine including PMC and PubMed.  Finally, you can find resources on the Internet such as open access titles.  These journals are only available on the Internet such as PLOS.

When you search the library resources, always remember to use the filters to locate "full text" articles, to choose a specific date.

When you search the National Library of Medicine, you can use the date filter (5 years).  PMC only contains full text articles.  PubMed has a filter for "full text" articles.

If a journal is open access, then it will provide the full text of the article.

Dentistry and Oral Science Source (EBSCO)

Dentistry and Oral Science Source (EBSCOhost)

This is an online database containing full text articles from the many periodicals covering dental hygiene and oral health.

Click on the link below

PubMed

Enter your keywords in the search box.  

The results will display.  

Narrow the search results to find a great source by using the filters: 

Text Availability: Choose Free Full Text

Article Type: Choose anything but books and documents

Publication Date: Choose 1 year or 5 years

PMC: PubMed Central (National Library of Medicine)

PMC: PubMed Central

Ebsco Discovery Service (NCC Library Database)

Using EDS: EBSCO Discovery Service, you can search most of the library's databases including EBSCOhost and ProQuest.

 

Advanced Search

 

 

 

ProQuest (NCC Library Database)

ProQuest: Nursing and Allied Health Source

Cochrane Library - Cochrane Reviews

This resource can be used to find Evidence-Based resources systematic reviews and meta analysis.  
Access is available to only a portion of the content, specifically "free access" articles located in Cochrane Reviews.

 

ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry

Using Online Databases

Online databases contain articles from magazines, newspapers, journals, trade publications, and books.  The articles in these databases come in two formats: abstract and full-text.  An abstract is a summary or overview of the article, and the complete article is not available in this database.  The other format is full-text which means the entire article as it appeared in the paper journal is available to you.

When you search for articles in these databases, there are are thee things to remember.  First, you can only search using words or phrase.  These tools do not work like Google, you cannot post an entire question in the search boxes.  Another thing to remember is to mark the option to only search for full-text articles on the "search" page.  This way you will only have complete articles in your results.  The last tip to remember is when the results are displayed use the suggested topics/subjects that the database lists to retrieve articles directly related to your topic.