LibGuides: Dental Hygiene (DENH): Websites

Dental and Oral Health Websites

Academy of General Dentistry
Website for this professional organization. Gives links to fact sheets and additional sources.
ADA Clinical Practice Guidelines and Dental Evidence
Our collection of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary studies that will help you improve your practice.
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
American Academy of Periodontology
American Dental Association
Website of the American Dental Association.
American Dental Hygienists' Association
Professional organization representing Dental Hygienists.
CDC--Oral Health
Healthy People 2030: Oral Health Objectives
Tooth decay is the most common chronic disease in children and adults in the United States. Healthy People 2030 focuses on reducing tooth decay and other oral health conditions and helping people get oral health care services.
Know your teeth
Dental care and oral health information you need from the Academy of General Dentistry (consumer health information)
MedlinePlus: Mouth and Teeth
Information from the National Library of Medicine regarding the mouth and teeth. It has diagrams and a list of topics related to the mouth and teeth.
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
This site contains news, data, statistics, and educational resources.
National Maternal & Child Oral Health Resource Center
A national center serving the maternal and child health community with high-quality oral health technical assistance, training, and resources
Oral Health in Rural Communities
The Rural Health Information Hub is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
PA Oral Health
PA Coalition for Oral Health provides a report on oral health in PA
Pennsylvania Dental Association

Health Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Covers all aspects of communicable diseases, public health, safety, environmental health and statistics.
Healthfinder
Gateway to consumer health sites and online publications (brochures, medical terminology, newsletters).
Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic staff provide general health information from their publications.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine.
more...less...
It contains information on health topics, medical tests, drugs and supplements, genetics, a medical encyclopedia and much more.
National Library of Medicine
PubMed Central (PMC)
A free database containing full text articles of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the US National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Government Offices

Bethlehem Health Bureau
Pennsylvania Department of Health
Pennsylvania Office of Rural Health
The Pennsylvania Office of Rural Health (PORH) is one of the 50 state offices of rural health. PORH is a partnership between the United States Federal Government, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and the Pennsylvania State University. PORH is charged with being a source of coordination, technical assistance, and networking; partnership development; and assisting in the recruitment and retention of health care providers.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help consumers, healthcare professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
more...less...
You can search by topics, you can find data, and you can read publications related to healthcare quality.

Health Statistics

Evaluating Websites

Remember, not everything found on the Internet is reliable. Anyone can put anything up on the Web. When you find information that you might consider using on a college paper or project, be sure to answer these questions to determine if the information is trustworthy:

1) AUTHORITY

Who published this website?
What are the author's credentials?
Does the author indicate his/her position or educational background?
Is the author a researcher in the field, a popular writer who has interest in the subject, or a total unkown who is stating his/her opinion on an issue about which he/she may not be knowledgeable?
Is there information about contacting the author? (E-mail address, phone number, etc.)
Is the author a respected corporation or government agency?
Does the author indicate the method of research used or provide any supportive evidence?
Check the "top level domain" in the URL (website address). Examples:
- .com=commercial
- .mil=military
- .edu=educational
- .net=network
- .gov=government
- .org=organization (non-profit)

2) ACCURACY

Has the site been edited, verified or peer-reviewed by others?
Is it well-written and free of errors?
Are correct grammar and spelling used?
Are the author's sources cited?
Are statistics or data current?

3) OBJECTIVITY

Does the author's affiliation or the sponsors of the website influence the opinions or views presented?
Is the information fact or opinion?
Is there a cultural or religious bias?
Are there advertisements?
Is the author trying to manipulate your thinking with this information?

4) CURRENCY

Is the information up-to-date?
When was the site produced?
How often is the site updated? Are the updates stated?
Do the links work?

5) COVERAGE

Are all aspects of the subject covered?
What level of detail is provided?
Is the information limited to certain time periods?
What types of materials are covered?
To what audience is the material aimed? (Scholars, general readers, children, etc.)