Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMTH 220: Introduction to Film: Databases

This guide will help you find film criticism, biographies of directors, definitions of film genres, and information about the Library's DVD collection.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link, then type the same user name and password that you use to open your "Student Workday" account. Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Database Resources for Film Studies

These databases are recommended for finding articles about the motion picture industry, movie reviews, and film criticism.

EBSCOhost ― Use the Academic Search Elite, Communication Source, MasterFILE Premier, and Newspaper Source modules to find full-text articles. Periodicals available through EBSCOhost include Cinema Journal, Journal of Popular Film & Television, Film Comment, Films in Review, Film Journal International, Literature/Film Quarterly, Film Criticism, and Velvet Light Trap.

JSTOR ― Contains scholarly journal articles covering film criticism, communication, and the performing arts. Periodicals available through JSTOR include current issues of Film Quarterly, and archival issues of Hollywood Quarterly and the Quarterly of Film, Radio & Television.

ProQuest Central ― Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals, general interest and news magazines, and trade publications. Periodicals available through ProQuest include Cinema Journal, Film Comment, Film Criticism, Film History, Film Quarterly, Journal of Film & Video, Literature/Film Quarterly, and Millennium Film Journal.

 

For background information about the history of film, use these databases.

 

Credo Reference  A collection of full-text electronic books, including an assortment of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, along with images, multimedia (music and video) features, tables of statistics, and maps.

Gale in Context: U.S. History -- Contains full-text articles, maps, photographs and other images, as well as a variety of primary source documents, covering U.S. history. Topics include events and biographies of historically significant people.  

 

These streaming video databases contain both historic and current documentaries, newsreels, nonfiction television programs, and interviews.

Films on Demand ― Features film clips and full program episodes from a variety of nonfiction film and television producers, including the BBC, California Newsreel, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, History Channel, Ken Burns, National Geographic, PBS Video, and many more.

Kanopy Streaming -- Contains a selection of documentaries from Media Education Foundation, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, and more.

Finding Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in reading an article from a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This online tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

For example, if you search for the journal title Film Comment, the directory will show you that the ProQuest Central database contains full-text issues of this publication from 1971-present, and the Academic Search Elite module of EBSCOhost contains full-text issues from 2002-present. You can then click on either database to search for topics within the back issues of this journal.