.s-lib-box .s-lib-box-title {font-size: 20px; border-bottom: 1px solid #333;} .s-lib-box .s-lib-box-title {font-size: 20px; background-color: transparent; border-bottom: 1px solid #333;} Skip to main content

CULA: Culinary Arts: Databases & Periodicals

This guide will help you find information about cooking as a profession (including molecular gastronomy and food safety), and restaurant management.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) -- The Super Database!

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most powerful database at the Library, allowing you to search many smaller databases all at once. Search results include:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers;
  • Descriptions of materials in the Library's collection, such as books and DVDs;
  • Links to online resources like e-books and streaming videos.

Be sure to click the box labeled "Limit to Full Text" in order to find the entire content of articles.

Culinary-Related Periodicals

You will find print journals and magazines in the Periodicals Tower of Mack Library (main campus). Periodicals may be borrowed for one week with your student I.D. card. The trade publications Art Culinaire and Catersource will be of interest to Culinary students.

Many more magazines and journals are available online through the Library databases. Here are just a few examples!

Titles on EBSCOhost:

  • Chef Magazine
  • Hospitality Design
  • Nation's Restaurant News
  • Restaurant Business
  • Restaurant Hospitality

 

Titles on ProQuest:

  • Caterer
  • Food & Beverage Close-Up
  • Foodservice Director
  • International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
  • Nation's Restaurant News
  • Restaurant Development & Design
  • Restaurant Hospitality

 

The online journal Gastronomica may be viewed only by using a computer on the NCC campus network.

Using Library Databases From Off-Campus

To log into a database from off-campus, click on the database link and when prompted, enter your NCC student I.D. number and the password that was mailed to you (the same login and password you use to open your MyNCC account). Once you have logged in, you will be able to navigate to other Library databases without having to type your password again during that searching session.

Database Resources for Culinary Arts

EBSCOhost -- Contains several modules helpful to students taking Culinary, Hospitality and Business courses, including:

  • Associates Programs Source: Designed for students in two-year degree programs. Topics include the restaurant, beverage, and hospitality industries.
  • Business Search Elite: Contains full-text coverage of more than 1,000 business and management publications, as well as company profiles.
  • Regional Business News: Provides access to more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

D&B Hoovers -- This business database provides continuously updated intelligence on public and private companies worldwide, including those in the restaurant, food manufacturing, and hospitality sectors.

ProQuest -- Search for your topic here to find articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other reference sources. Many articles are full-text.

Finding Periodicals by Title

If you're interested in a particular journal or magazine, and want to find the Library database where it's located, use the Publication Finder. This online tool allows you to search by title or subject, and will show you which database contains full-text coverage of each periodical.

For example, if you search for Chef Magazine, the directory will show you that the Associates Programs Source module of the EBSCOhost database contains full-text articles from this publication, covering 2005 to the present. You can then link to the database to search for topics within the back issues of this magazine.